The Bogliasco Fellowship Program

Approximately 50 Bogliasco Fellowships are awarded each year. They are scheduled during the two semesters of the traditional academic year. The Bogliasco Foundation does not offer summer residencies. During 2013-2014 the dates are as follows: September 9 to December 13 (fall-winter), and February 10 to May 16 (winter-spring). The standard residency at the Liguria Study Center has a duration of 30 to 34 days, depending on various practical considerations: the travel arrangements of Fellows, their disciplines and studio requirements, the Foundation’s scheduling limitations, and so on.

Fulbright Programs for Artists, Writers & Musicians

U.S. Scholar Program

For artists applying to the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program from outside academe, projects will be judged on recognized professional standing and substantial professional accomplishments.

San Jose State University John Steinbeck Fellowship in Creative Writing

Deadline: January 1, 2011
Web site: as.sjsu.edu/steinbeck/steinbeck_fellows/index.jsp
E-mail address: paul.douglass@sjsu.edu

A one-year residency, which includes a stipend of $10,000, at San José
State University is given annually to a fiction writer or a creative
nonfiction writer. The resident will give one public reading each
semester and must live in the San José area during the academic year.
Submit up to 30 pages of prose, a project proposal, three letters of
recommendation, contact information for two additional references, and
a resumé by January 1, 2011. There is no entry fee. Call, e-mail, or
visit the Web site for complete guidelines.

San José State University, Steinbeck Fellowship in Creative Writing,
Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies, San José, CA
95192-0202. (408) 808-2067. Paul Douglass, Contact.



Since 1986, the University of Wisconsin’s Institute for
Creative Writing has provided time, space, and an intellectual
community for writers working on a first book of poetry or
fiction. The Institute also awards a fellowship for playwrights.
At present, the Institute annually offers up to seven year-long
fellowships. Typically there are three fiction fellowships
(the Carl Djerassi Fiction Fellowship, the James C. McCreight
Fiction Fellowship, and the Carol Houck Smith Fiction Fellowship),
two poetry fellowships (the Jay C. and Ruth Halls Fellowship and
the Diane Middlebrook Poetry Fellowship), one playwriting
fellowship (the Carl Djerassi Playwriting Fellowship), and one
fellowship in either fiction or poetry for a graduate of the
University’s MFA Program in Creative Writing (the Halls Emerging
Artist Fellowship). Each of these fellowships carries with it a
$27,000 stipend, generous health benefits, and a one-course-per-
semester teaching assignment in intermediate or advanced
undergraduate creative writing. Applications to the poetry,
fiction, and HEAF fellowships must be received in the month of
February. Applications to the Djerassi Playwriting Fellowship
must be received by April 1.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s